The NCLEX: Meeting Client Needs

The NCLEX is organized according to the framework, "Meeting Client Needs." There are four major categories and ten subcategories. All of the questions on the exam involve integrated nursing content. Many nursing programs are based on the medical model where students take separate medical, surgical, pediatric, psychiatric, and obstetric classes. However on the NCLEX, all content is integrated.

The NCLEX: Meeting Client Needs

1) Safe & Effective Care Environment

Management of Care (7-13 percent)
Safety & Infection Control (5-11 percent)

2) Health Promotion & Maintenance

Growth & Development (7-13 percent)
Prevention & Early Detection of Disease (5-11 percent)

3) Psychosocial Integrity

Coping/Adaptation (5-11 percent)
Psychosocial Adaptation (5-11 percent)

4) Physiological Integrity

Basic Care & Comfort (7-13 percent)
Pharmacological & Parenteral Therapies (5-11 percent)
Reduction of Risk Potential (12-18 percent)
Physiological Adaptation (12-18 percent)

Leave a Reply